Child Passenger Safety Unit (CPS)

Child Passenger Safety Unit InstructionThe CPS Unit has a number of officers trained and certified to inspect & install child/Infant safety seats for any Medford citizen.


We do car seat installations BY APPOINTMENT ONLY at the rear police academy bay (behind academy/police station) by appointment only. We care about your safety and your child’s safety. So, please ensure your child’s car seat is safely secured.

If you normally advertise in your Newspaper, Newsletter, or Website about the Medford Police Child Protection Safety Seat Inspection / Installation program we have made some changes to our request for appointment process.

  • Please call 1-781- 391 – 6776 and leave a brief message with a call back phone number.
  • Please leave a day time and evening phone number or a cell number.
  • The Officers will review these messages and they will call you back to schedule an appointment.

About CPS

The Unit’s mission is to give instruction on the proper installation of child safety seats to ensure the safety of children while traveling in a motor vehicle. The unit conducts frequent checkpoints at the Medford Police Station and assists other cities with checkpoints in their communities, please check their webs sites for the locations as they are open to the general public.

The CPS Unit (Child Passenger Safety Unit) has eight officers trained & certified to inspect & install Child safety seats, they are:

  • Sgt. Angelo Raffeale
  • Officer Darin Connolly
  • Officer Richard Raso
  • Officer Joseph Byrnes
  • Officer Shawn Maloney
  • Officer Frank Cassarino
  • Officer James Benoit
  • Officer Pat O’Keefe
  • Officer Daniel D’Amico

These Medford Officers had to complete the following to obtain their certification:

The child passenger safety technician certification process requires attendance at a 32 hour course including participation in a check-point event. At the completion of the instruction, the individual must pass written & performance evaluations. Individuals must attend update courses and renew their certificate every two years.

Massachusetts Child Passenger Safety Law:

The Massachusetts Safety Belt Law requires safety belt use by those 13 years of age and older. View the full-text of the Massachusetts Child Passenger Safety Law